Fortaleza de Sagres

The Fortaleza de Sagres is situated about 1 km southwest of the small town Sagres and is well signposted. It is located on the cliff > Ponta de Sagres < of roughly 1 km length. In front of the national monument of Portugal is a big parking area.

Coordinates: 37°00'16.8"N 8°56'43.4"W

According to a legend the facility was the nautical college of Henry the navigator, actually the education took place in Lagos and Lisbon.

Entrance fee: Adults 3 € · children and adolescent (until 25 years) 1.5 € · seniors 1.5 €

The wind rose (43 m diameter) from the 15th century is accredited to Henry the Navigator. It is cut into 42 segments. Its function has not been cleared to date. It is supposed to be an assistance for navigation or a sundial. 

The large facility is simple, the view from the walls is great. When walking round on good paths, one feels and hears the power of the sea. Parts of the cliff are undermined by the seawater. In the southern part is a roaring seco (roughly 80 m in front of the sea), this is a big natural hole in the rock down to the surface of the undermining seawater. 

In one part of the buildings are a cafeteria and rooms for changing expositions. 

View from the walls to the >Cabo de São Vicente<. 

The chapel > Nossa Senhora da Graça < within the fort. 

Please stay on the paved paths, parts of the cliff constantly break away and plunge into the sea. Anglers always stand at the edge of the cliff and falls are lamented regularly.

↑ TOP ↑

Fortaleza de Sagres

Die Fortaleza de Sagres liegt etwa 1 km südwestlich der Kleinstadt Sagres und ist gut ausgeschildert. Es befindet sich auf der etwa 1 km langen Klippe >  Ponta de Sagres <. Vor dem portugiesischen Nationaldenkmal befindet sich ein großer Parkplatz.

Koordinaten: 37°00'16.8"N 8°56'43.4"W

Laut einer Legende ist die Anlage die Seefahrerschule Heinrichs des Seefahrers, tatsächlich fand die Ausbildung aber wohl in Lagos und Lissabon statt.

Entrittpreis: Erwachsene: 3 € · Kinder und Jugendliche (bis 25 J.) 1,5 € · Senioren 1,5 €

Die Windrose (43 m Durchmesser) aus dem 15. Jahrhundert wird Heinrich dem Seefahrer zugeschrieben. Sie ist in 42 Segmente unterteilt. Die Funktion ist bis heute ungeklärt. Vermutet wird, dass sie eine Navigationshilfe oder eine Sonnenuhr ist. 

Die weitläufige Anlage ist schlicht, die Aussicht von den Mauern ist grandios. Beim Rundgang über gute Wege spürt und hört man die Kraft des Meeres. Teile der Klippe werden unterspült. Im südlichen Teil gibt es einen tosenden Seco (etwa 80 m vor dem Meer), ein großes natürliches Loch im Felsen hinunter bis zur Oberfläche des unterspülenden Meeres.

In einem Teil der Gebäude sind eine Caféteria und Räumlichkeiten für wechselnde Ausstellungen untergebracht.

Blick von den Mauern auf das > Cabo de São Vicente <. 

Die Kapelle > Nossa Senhora da Graça < innerhalb des Forts. 

Bitte bleiben Sie auf den festen Wegen, ständig brechen Teile der Klippe ab und stürzen ins Meer. Die Angler stehen immer direkt an der Kante, Abstürze sind regelmäßig zu beklagen.

↑ TOP ↑