Lagos
Town

Lagos is a seaport and a community (about 22,500 inhabitants) in the Algarve in Portugal. 

Coordinates: 37° 6′ N, 8° 41′ W 

Lacobriga is the first known name of the settlement. Far more than 2,000 years ago the Phoenicians already settled down at the bay of Lagos and afterwards the Romans. The abundance of tuna and sardines had been extraordinary there. In the 14th and 15th century the harbour of Lagos was often the starting point of passages around Africa in order to find the seaway to India.

View onto the bay and the port entrance of Lagos. In 1433 Gil Eanes set sail to travel beyond the Cap Bojador. This was said to be dangerous or even impossible at that time (15 unsuccessful attempts). In 1573 Lagos received the town privilege and shortly afterwards became the capital of the Algarve, remaining it until 1756.

A caravel in the port entrance of Lagos. This type of ship had a displacement of up to 180 t, it had few draught and it permitted sailing also with difficult wind as well as frequenting the mouth of a river. 

The newly constructed (1995) harbour of Lagos. Along its promenade are diverse restaurants, cafés, snackbars and shops. Here you can book boat trips for visiting caves or watching dolphins.

With the expeditions came slaves from Africa and in 1444 the first market for this kind of "goods" was established in Europe. Only in 1820 the slave trade was prohibited. The building has overcome time and is used for changing exhibitions. 

↑TOP ↑

Substantial parts of the town fortification have been built up again in 1755.

Historic traces everywhere. At the time of the Moorish dominion (711 up to 1241 p. Chr. n.) the town was strongly fortified.

↑TOP ↑ 

The remains of the town wall shape the image of the city in large parts.

Lagos was well protected against attacks from the sea and from ashore. 

↑ TOP ↑  

Lagos has a big pedestrian area with everything the heart desires. You find banks, a post office, restaurants, cafés, bistros, souvenir and antique shops.

The alleys are narrow and winding; a tough job for suppliers.

↑ TOP ↑  

Everywhere you find options for a rest. In particular during the summer months shade is very welcome.

In Portugal one also uses to think of the children.

↑ TOP ↑

On the promenade along the river > Bensafrim < is a market during the season. Clothing, cheap jewellery and handicraft are offered. 

When ambling along the river, one can watch yachts and fishing boats.

↑ TOP ↑

The newly constructed train station of Lagos. It represents the western final stop of the > Linha do Algarve <. Travellers have to continue their journey with busses or taxis from here. The train station is situated only about 100 m from the harbour and about 300 - 700 m from the city center.

↑ TOP ↑

Lagos
Ort

Lagos ist eine Hafenstadt und eine Gemeinde (ca. 22.500 Einwohner) an der Algarve in Portugal. 

Koordinaten: 37° 6′ N, 8° 41′ W 

Lacobriga ist der erste bekannte Name der Ansiedlung. Vor weit über 2.000 Jahren siedelten bereits die Phönizier und anschließend die Römer an der Bucht von Lagos. Der Reichtum an Tunfisch und Sardinen war hier außergewöhnlich. Im 14. und 15. Jahrhundert war der Hafen von Lagos oft der Startpunkt der Reisen um Afrika herum, um den Seeweg nach Indien zu finden.

Blick auf die Bucht und die Hafeneinfahrt von Lagos. 1433 brach Gil Eanes von hier aus auf, um über das Cap Bojador hinaus zu segeln, was zu damaliger Zeit als gefährlich oder sogar unmöglich (15 gescheiterte Versuche) galt. 1573 bekam Lagos das Stadtrecht und wurde kurze Zeit später zur Haupstadt der Algarve, was sie bis 1756 blieb.

Eine Karavelle in der Hafenzufahrt von Lagos. Dieser Schiffstyp hatte bis zu 180 t Verdrängung, geringen Tiefgang und erlaubte das Segeln auch bei schwierigem Wind sowie das Befahren von Flussmündungen. 

Der 1995 neu gebaute Hafen von Lagos, an dessen Promenade sich verschiedene Restaurants, Cafés, Snack-Bars und Geschäfte befinden. Von hier aus können Sie Bootstouren buchen, sowohl um die Grotten zu besichtigen als auch zur Delphinbeobachtung.

Die Expeditionen brachten aus Afrika Sklaven mit und 1444 wurde in Lagos der erste Markt für diese Art "Ware" in Europa errichtet. Erst 1820 wurde der Menschenhandel untersagt. Das Gebäude hat die Zeit überstanden und wird heute für wechselnde Ausstellungen genutzt. 

↑ TOP ↑

Große Teile der Stadtbefestigung wurden nach dem Erdbeben von 1755 erneut aufgebaut.

Historisches - wohin man schaut. Zur Zeit der Maurenherrschaft (711 bis 1241 n Chr.) wurde die Stadt stark befestigt.

↑TOP ↑ 

Die Reste der Stadtmauer prägen das Bild in weiten Teilen der Stadt.

Lagos war gut gegen Überfälle sowohl von der See her als auch vom Land her geschützt. 

↑ TOP ↑  

Lagos hat eine große Fußgängerzone mit allem, was das Herz begehrt. Sie finden Banken, das Postamt, Restaurants, Cafés, Bistros, Souvenir- und Antiquitätengeschäfte.

Die Gassen sind schmal und verwinkelt; es ist oft schwierig für Lieferanten.

↑TOP ↑  

Überall gibt es Möglichkeiten auszuruhen. Gerade in den Sommermonaten ist Schatten sehr willkommen.

Für Kinder wird in Portugal immer etwas geboten.

↑TOP ↑

An der Promenade am Fluss > Bensafrim < gibt es saisonbedingt einen Markt. Es werden Kleidung, Schmuck und Kunsthandwerk angeboten.

Beim Flanieren lassen sich die Yachten und Fischerboote beobachten.

↑ TOP ↑

Der neu gebaute Bahnhof von Lagos. Hier ist die westliche Endstation der > Linha do Algarve <. Reisende müssen ab hier mit Bussen oder Taxen weiterreisen. Der Bahnhof liegt nur etwa 100 m vom Hafen und ca. 300 - 700 m von der Innenstadt entfernt.

↑ TOP ↑