Monchique
Town

The county town of Monchique (about 4,800 inhabitants) is located 450 m up (above sea level) on the slope of the mount Foia.

Coordinates: 37° 19′ N, 8° 33′ W 

The small town is well signposted starting from the N125. Via the N124 one reaches directly the town center.

The country had been settled since the New Stone Age. Only in 1773 Monchique has been raised to Vila (small town) and county town and thus obtained (by separating the region from the county Silves) an own county.

Today Monchique is internationally known for its culinary specialities. Thus, festivals take place several times a year, where visitors can try the traditional kinds of sausage and ham, the Aguardente de Medronho (schnapps from tree strawberries) and honey.

A visit to Monchique should be part of every stay in the Algarve. The sight over the south coast of Portugal is impressing and along the N124 exist parking places at special points with panorama view that are well signposted. The town itself offers to the visitor diverse shopping opportunities, the post office, banks and several restaurants as well as cafés.

The streets in town are narrow and in part very steep. In the town center are a big and free underground carpark as well as various parking facilities. 

Bronze sculptures on the pavement in Monchique.

↑ TOP ↑

Here it is tranquil and relaxed, an agreeable contrast to the excitement in the coastal towns and on the beaches. Some handicraftsmen show in town their products like e. g. wickerwork, pottery and knitwear.

The monastery > Convento de Nossa Senhora do Desterro < has been built in the 17th century by decree of the viceroy of India who has been buried here. You can reach it within about 20 - 30 minutes from the heart of the town. 

↑ TOP ↑

The Igreja Matriz de Monchique was built in the 15th and 16th century and has been reconstructed after the earthquake of 1755.

The church is opened daily for visitors. The entrance is free. 

↑ TOP ↑

Monchique
Ort

Die Kreisstadt Monchique (etwa 4.800 Einwohner) liegt in 450 m Höhe über NN am Hang des Berges Foia.

Koordinaten: 37° 19′ N, 8° 33′ W 

Ab der N125 ist die Kleinstadt gut ausgeschildert. Über die N124 gelangt man dann direkt in das Zentrum des Ortes.

Die Gegend ist seit der Jungsteinzeit besiedelt. Erst 1773 wurde Monchique zur Vila (Kleinstadt) und Kreisstadt erhoben und bekam damit (durch Abspaltung des Gebietes vom Kreis Silves) einen eigenen Landkreis.

Monchique ist heute für seine kulinarischen Spezialitäten international bekannt, so finden hier mehrfach im Jahr Feste statt, wo Besucher die traditionellen Wurst- und Schinkensorten, den Aguardente de Medronho (Schnaps aus der Baumerdbeere) und Honig probieren können.

Ein Besuch von Monchique gehört eigentlich zu jedem Algarveaufenthalt. Die Aussicht über Portugals Südküste ist beeindruckend und an der N124 gibt es an besonderen Punkten Parkplätze mit Panoramablick, die gut beschildert sind. Der Ort selber bietet dem Besucher verschiedene Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, das Postamt, Banken und diverse Restaurants und Cafés.

Die Straßen im Ort sind eng und teilweise sehr steil. Im Ortszentrum gibt es eine große kostenlose Tiefgarage und verschiedene Parkmöglichkeiten. 

Bronzeskulpturen auf dem Bürgersteig in Monchique.

↑ TOP ↑

Ruhig und gelassen geht es hier zu, ein angenehmer Kontrast zu dem "Trubel" in den Orten an der Küste und an den Stränden. Einige Kunsthandwerker stellen im Ort ihre Erzeugnisse wie z. B. Korbflecht-, Töpfer- und Strickwaren aus.

Das Kloster > Convento de Nossa Senhora do Desterro < wurde im 17. Jahrhundert auf Erlass des Vizekönigs von Indien erbaut, der hier beerdigt wurde. Es ist zu Fuß in etwa 20 - 30 Minuten vom Ortskern zu erreichen. 

↑ TOP ↑

Die Igreja Matriz de Monchique wurde im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert erbaut und nach dem Erdbeben von 1755 wieder aufgebaut.

Die Kirche ist täglich für Besucher geöffnet, der Eintritt ist frei. 

↑ TOP ↑